Logitech Z-5 Volume fix [Ubuntu]

I got a nice pair of Logitech Z-5 speakers for my apartment at the university but directly stuggled with volume control. It was somewhat working, but only in the range from 90-100%, 90 being whisper quiet and 93 being rock concert loud.

I found an easy workaround:

Open the file /etc/pulse/default.pa as root:

gksu gedit /etc/pulse/default.pa

Search for the entry “load-module module-udev-detect” and change it to

load-module module-udev-detect ignore_dB=1

Kill pulseaudio (but plug out the speakers beforehand as they are at max volume after)

killall pulseaudio

You should now be able to control the volume of the speakers with the remote that comes bundled.

In the panel, the sound widget will not show the right volume.

The computer switches automatically between the laptop and logitech speakers if you plug them in the usb.

More information: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DebuggingSoundProblems/KarmicCaveats#Volume

2 Responses to Logitech Z-5 Volume fix [Ubuntu]

  1. Nico says:

    Hi,

    I guess I’m lucky to have found a Z-5 owner 😀

    I’m currently running Ubuntu 10.10 and have an issue with those speakers: they seem to be randomly enabled on every startup/reboot (but most of the times they aren’t).

    They are always correctly recognized as USB device in lsusb, but when they don’t work they are not displayed in the Preferences of the panel Sound applet.

    Have you ever had any issue with this device? Or did they always work just fine? I had it with all my previous Ubuntu installations, even Kubuntu and Xubuntu.
    I’ve asked for support in the official forums (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1689271) but still haven’t solved.

    Hope you can help me 🙂

    Thanks in advance,

    Nico.

    • thoughtsdaily says:

      Hello,

      Luckily, I don’t have this problem. I’m also running Ubuntu 10.10, but my speakers are always recognized correctly.
      There is just one problem: Sometimes, when I plug something other in one of the USB ports, my volume keys and the volume applet switch to the integrated speakers. I can’t control the volume, as the output is still the Z-5 and the integrated speakers in the notebook are disabled.
      I have to open the soud preferences window and select Z-5 Speakers ih the Output tab.

      As of a note, they showed random errors when connected to a non powered USB hub. They seem to require a lot of power. Maybe your computer cannot provide enough power (at boot) for the Speakers to be recognized and work correctly?
      You could try plugging them in a powered USB hub.
      If you got the same problem with different distributions, it seems to be a problem with your computer hardware.

      Greetings,
      Chris

Leave a Reply

